BMW wins the 24 Hours of Daytona

BMW wins the 24 Hours of Daytona.

BMW Team RLL took victory at the 24 Hours of Daytona. When the opening round of the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship was suspended due to heavy rain for the second time, the #25 BMW M8 GTE and drivers Connor De Phillippi, Augusto Farfus, Philipp Eng and Colton Herta were leading the GTLM class. The race did not resume, leaving the BMW drivers to celebrate victory. The appearance by Alessandro Zanardi meant the team’s #24 car was the centre of much attention at the endurance classic in Florida. It proved to be a difficult race for the Italian and his fellow drivers John Edwards, Jesse Krohn and Chaz Mostert. The quartet eventually came home in ninth place.

This latest success was the third GTLM victory in the IMSA series for the BMW M8 GTE. BMW celebrated its first win at Daytona back in 1976 with the BMW 3.0 CSL. This was followed in 1997 and 1998 by two class victories with the BMW M3 GTR. Overall victory went to Daytona prototypes with BMW Power in 2011 and 2013. BMW Team RLL finished on the top step of the podium at Daytona for the first time. READ MORE

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Captcha loading...

5 + 1 =